Shortwave Listening

Pages in the RED MENU are text only.
With the latest rise in Sun Spot activity, reception of shortwave frequencies has been on the rise. This is a great time to get into shortwave listening. Here is an English Language shortwave listening schedule to use for tuning around the shortwave bands. These are primarily stations that broadcast news and features in English and direct their signals to the North American continent. This is not just a reprint of station schedules, but signals actually heard on the air in the western US.

Frequencies are listed in kHz and the ones in BOLD should be strong enough to pickup on your portable receiver. Your reception may vary of course from day to day. Also included on this page below the Hourly List are websites and Real-Audio feeds for broadcasters. If you don't have a shortwave radio yet, you can listen via the net! Some good links to informative websites are also listed at the end of this page.

What's On Shortwave

0000 UTC, 4 PM Pacific
Australia 21740
BBC 5975, 6175, 9590, 12095
Japan 11705 (via Canada Xmtr)
Netherlands 6165, 9845
New Zealand 17675 (weak)
UK Merlin 11985
VOA 5995, 6130, 7405, 9775, 11695
0030 UTC, 4:30 PM Pacific
Austria, 9655
0100 UTC, 5 PM Pacific
Australia 21740
BBC 5975, 6175, 9590, 12095
Canada 9755, 13670
Croatia 9925
Germany 6040, 6145, 9640, 13720
Japan 21670 (weak)
Netherlands 6165, 9845
New Zealand 17675 (weak)
Russia 15520
Switzerland 9885, 9905
VOA 5995, 6130, 7405, 9775
0200 UTC, 6 PM Pacific
BBC 5975, 6175, 6185
Canada (30 Min) 9535, 9755, 13670
Cuba 9820
New Zealand 17675
Russia 15520
Taiwan 5950, 9680
0300 UTC, 7 PM Pacific
Australia 15515, 17580
BBC 5975, 6175, 6185, 7160
China 9690
Cuba 9820
Germany 6145, 9535, 9640, 11810
Japan 17825
New Zealand 17675
Russia 7125, 17630
Taiwan 5950, 9680
VOA 6145, 9575, 11765
0400 UTC, 8 PM Pacific
BBC 5975, 6185, 11765
China 9560, 9730
Cuba 6000, 9820
New Zealand 17675
Netherlands 6165, 9590
Switzerland 9905
VOA 9575
0430 UTC, 8:30 PM Pacific
Yugoslavia 7230, 9580
0500 UTC, 9 PM Pacific
Australia 15515
BBC 5975, 6175, 11765, 12095
Canada (30 min) 5995, 9755
Cuba 9550, 9820
Germany 9670, 11795
Netherlands (30 min) 6165, 9590
Japan 6110
Spain 6055
VOA 6035
0530 UTC, 9:30 PM Pacific
Austria 6015
0600 UTC, 10 PM Pacific
Australia 15515
BBC 5975, 6175
Canada CFRB 6070
Cuba 9550, 9820
VOA 9680
0700 UTC, 11 PM Pacific
Australia 15515
China 5950
New Zealand 9700
0800 UTC, 12 AM Pacific
New Zealand 9700
0900 UTC, 1 AM Pacific
Australia 9710, 13605
Germany 6160
New Zealand 9700
0930 UTC, 1:30 AM Pacific
Netherlands 5965
1000 UTC, 2 AM Pacific
Australia 13605
BBC 6195, 9740
Netherlands 5965
New Zealand 9700
VOA 6165, 9590
1100 UTC, 3 AM Pacific
Australia 12080, 13605
BBC 6195, 9740
Netherlands 5965
New Zealand 9700
VOA 9760
1200 UTC, 4 AM Pacific
Australia 9580, 11650
BBC 6195, 9740, 9515
BBC (Radio One 15 min) 9605
Canada 9660 (weak)
VOA 9760
1300 UTC, 5 AM Pacific
Australia 9580, 11650
BBC 6195, 9740, 9515
VOA 9760
1400 UTC, 6 AM Pacific
Australia 5995, 9580
BBC 9590, 17840
Canada 9555
China 7405
Japan 11705
1500 UTC, 7 AM Pacific
Australia 9580
BBC 17840
Jordan 11690
1600 UTC, 8 AM Pacific
BBC 17840
France 15205
Jordan 11690
1700 UTC, 9 AM Pacific
ZZZZZZ.... Reports Welcome
1800 UTC, 10 AM Pacific
ZZZZZZ.... Reports Welcome
1900 UTC, 11 AM Pacific
ZZZZZZ.... Reports Welcome
2000 UTC, 12 PM Pacific
Canada 13650, 13670 (weak)
BBC 15400
UK Merlin 13690, 17695
2100 UTC, 1 PM Pacific
Australia 21740
BBC 12095, 15400
Canada 13650, 13670 (weak)
Germany 15135
Japan 17825
New Zealand 17675 (weak)
UK Merlin 13690, 17695
VOA 17725
2200 UTC, 2 PM Pacific
Australia 21740
BBC 12095, 15400
Canada 13670, 15305
New Zealand 17675 (weak)
Taiwan 15600
2230 UTC, 2:30 PM Pacific
Belgium 15565
2300 UTC, 3 PM Pacific
Australia 21740
BBC 9590, 12095
Canada 9755, 13670
Canada 11895
UK Merlin 11985
2330 UTC, 4:30 PM Pacific
Netherlands 9845

The above list is primarily for news and features from around the world, but that doesn't mean that many of the religious broadcasters with strong signals to the US are being ignored, as they are easy to find by scanning up and down each shortwave band.


Shortwave Broadcaster Web Sites / Real Audio Feeds

If you don't have a shortwave receiver, you can still listen to these broadcasters via the Internet and your Real Audio player. Even when these stations are not broadcasting direct to the Americas, you may still listen to their broadcast while they direct there programming to another area of the world. Click on the Station Name to visit the web site, click on the speaker to listen.

Listen Station Web Site
AUDIO Australia Broadcasting Corporation
AUDIO Radio Austria International
AUDIO BBC World Service
AUDIO Radio Canada International
AUDIO China Radio International
AUDIO Croatian Radio Television
Radio Habana Cuba
AUDIO Hong Kong
Radio Japan
AUDIO Radio Netherlands
AUDIO Radio Prague
AUDIO Voice of Russia
Switzerland
AUDIO Voice of America
AUDIO Radio Yugoslavia
AUDIO Radio New Zealand International

Shortwave Listener Programs

Shortwave Books/Guides


The Shortwave Bands

Use these frequency ranges when tuning around the shortwave bands to find international broadcasters. Only a very few stations operate outside these ranges.

49 Meter Band 5730 - 6205
41 Meter Band 7100 - 7595
31 Meter Band 9350 - 10000
25 Meter Band 11550 - 12160
22 Meter Band 13570 - 13870
19 Meter Band 15000 - 15710
16 Meter Band 17500 - 17900
13 Meter Band 21450 - 21850


Useful Shortwave Web Sites

Other SWL Links

http://anarc.org/naswa/swlguide/
http://www.dxing.info/
http://www.dxing.info/</A
http://home.houston.rr.com/edmayberry
 http://www.worldofradio.com/</A>

SWL Frequencies

11175 usb airforce
5696    usb   uscg

RETURN TO TOP OF PAGE

copyright 2000, 2001, 2002 & 2003 by Frank Cross.
All rights are reserved